The frustration…

Learning a programming language can be so rewarding but also so frustrating.

This technology is moving with the speed of light. You learn one thing today and tomorrow it is already obsolete, so to speak.

When I started to search for those languages, I found out that there were so many information on Internet, YouTube videos, chat rooms, etc.

But many were out of dates without knowing about it!

Of course, at the beginning you have no idea and jump on every single piece of information you can find. One is showing you something without really understanding the ins and outs. You just try to follow, paste and try codes…

Your first success finally arrives. You say to yourself, yes I made it! It wasn’t so hard after all. What was the fuss all about?

Soon after you realise that you completely forgot what those lessons were talking about as you were just copying and pasting codes and tried to put the puzzle together without really understanding the foundation of the language.

The road back to the dark side of the moon was a common feeling… I felt like one step forward, two steps backwards…

“That’s it I give up! “ I told myself so many times…

But for some reasons, I came back and during my search I started to find myself being able to figure it out which was old and which was up to date faster and faster.

Then, came 2014 when Apple introduced this new language called Swift.

For me, this was a Tsunami. What to do now? Of course, there was not much info on search engines if you were getting stuck during your project and looking for help.

But if a firm like Apple was behind, there was a reason to listen and start to learn this new language.

My God! I had to start from ground zero again… No, please! I felt desperate and again, I wanted to throw everything by the window…

I was spending days and weekends, trying to master the beast. Everyday I was telling myself, why am I doing this? I don’t need it; I have a job. I am good in what I am doing (or at least, let me dream about it). Why learning something which is painful to understand?

As a pilot, I have learned in the teaching and learning, that sooner or later you get a plateau during your learning experience. Nothing seems to improve anymore or get into your head. Some people take longer than others but at the end, the plateau finishes and you learning curve grows again.

Well, here I felt like the learning curve was more like a roller coaster than anything else I have experienced so far. Fasten your seat belts! Mamma mia!…

Yes I know, title of a famous song from the Swedish group ABBA. They were my favourites when I was in high school J

As I come from a technical background and having a Cartesian logic, I could not understand why I couldn’t get it. Something was wrong, but what?

Yes I know, I am not the smartest guy on earth, I got it! But there must have been something else, which did not click yet in my head.

This plateau, even a roller coaster one, could not keep on going forever.

Finally, the light from the end of the tunnel could be seen from far away. Still a long way to go though, but it’s on the right track…

What I learned is not to give up. Anyone can do it, you just need to be stubborn and believe what you do is right. It is like building a house, you first need to start by the foundation and then build the rest around it.

Yes, a computer science degree is not something for everybody but you know what? If a 52 years old guy can do this, anyone can 😉

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Author: didierdelhaisse

Airline pilot learning to code ;-)

Leave a comment